Manhattanville Reid Castle In the Spring

The 171st Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony
Saturday, 19 May 2012 11:00

Manhattanville celebrated its 171st Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony on Saturday, May 19, 2012.

The beautiful, sunny day was filled with honors and congratulations for the 373 graduates. The Class of 2012 presented its Senior Class Gift, a new piano for Reid Hall, during the ceremony.

Commencement speaker and honorary degree recipient Kitty Pilgrim '76 spoke to the students about their responsibility as the "global generation" and their power to make changes in today's society.

Four awards were given to deserving graduates during the ceremony: The President's Prize, the Grace Cowardin Dammann Award, The Eleanor O'Byrne Prize, and the Provost's Prize. 

Warda Khan, the Senior Class President, received the President's Prize, which is given to a student for outstanding contribution to the Manhattanville community and actively upholding the College's core values.

Taylor Fawcett received the Grace Cowardin Dammann Award, which is given to a student of outstanding scholarship, integrity, and commitment to social justice who intends to pursue graduate study.

The Eleanor O'Byrne Prize for excellence in studies went to Sarah Gustavsson and Donna Ruppert received the Provost's Prize for excellence in studies.